Book Tag

Pokémon Go Book Tag

Things I love: Pokémon Go and book tags. I’m pumped for this.

pokemon-go-book-tag

The funny thing about me and Pokémon Go is that I live in the suburbs in a small town. Meaning, my Pokémon Go screen looks like this:

pokemon go suburbs
Note the Zubat and Pidgey in the corner. Oy.

The Pokéstops near me consist of a couple of gazebos, a phone tower, and Chipotlé. Those are some excellent historical markers!

Anyway, I still love the game, so when I saw this book tag, I had to do it. If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged.

The prompts ask for only one book per category, but if I have to narrow down my lists I’ll be writing this post forever. Consider the Harry Potter series a given answer to almost all of these.


pokemon-tag-01starters

I’ve always loved reading, so there isn’t one specific book that really did it for me. I guess the books that cemented my love were Anne of Green Gables and Little Women, two series that are still at the top of my favorites list (and always will be). I also used to love all the Eva Ibbotson and Tove Jansson books. Also, Harry Potter.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

I’ve got the feeling that these are going to be the answers for a lot of these questions, but again: Anne of Green Gables and Little Women. I also love To Kill a Mockingbird with all of my heart. Also, Harry Potter.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

The first one that comes to mind is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I was really interested in this one and her subsequent works, but after the movie came out and it was all I heard about (and all the discourse surrounding it was all I heard), I just gave up.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

I know a lot of people have started lashing out at John Green now, but I’ve always loved him. I’m older than his demographic now, but I still really enjoyed reading his books as they came out. I’ve got a few bones to pick with the people who argue against him, but that’s a post for another time. This one counts because his books remind me of… well, each other, but I still love them anyway.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

When I was little and my family would comment (lovingly) on how much I read, my dad once said something jokingly that always stuck: “You’re always tearing through books. We need to get you something solid that will keep you occupied for a while… like War and Peace.” I immediately and stubbornly took that as a challenge, but unfortunately (or fortunately), I couldn’t find it at my local library. Still, it’s been on my TBR ever since, although as I get older I’m getting less motivated to read it. It’s long. It’s Russian. I’m lazy.

pokemon-tag06-gengar

I’ve just did a big post on the books that have kept me up all night, but I think the number one book out of the list is Coraline. Look, even the cover of that book is terrifying. Also, I don’t know if it’s cheating to add all the Goosebumps books to the list, but to this day I am scared of the eighth book in the series, The Girl Who Cried MonsterThe plot itself wasn’t as scary as one of the very first scenes, in which the protagonist tries to trick her little brother into believing that their neighbor is a monster and that if you stick your toes out of your bed he comes to eat them. It doesn’t sound scary now, but back then, I took the threat very seriously.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

Again, there could be quite a few answers to this one, but my ultimate favorite bookish couple will always and forever be Percy and Annabeth from the various Rick Riordan series.

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

I feel like these are probably the standard answers, but the Hunger Games series and the Divergent series went by pretty quickly for me, as did the Pendragon series when I was younger (I can’t believe I still haven’t read the last book… even though I have now mistakenly bought three copies.)

pokemon-tag09-eevee

Definitely the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Rick Riordan has done a lot of crossovers between his various mythological universes (though I guess if they’re crossovers they’re not different universes), and Percy and/or Annabeth are in most of the crossovers. He’s written a second series– again, featuring the duo– and now there’s a third told from the perspective of Apollo but also highlighting (you got it!) Percy Jackson. There’s a lot of “Let the boy live a normal life!” talk and I’m absolutely in agreement. However, that doesn’t mean I’m not gonna buy every single book in the new series with the expectation that Percy is going to be in it.

pokemon-tag10-egg

I am deeply in love with Where’d You Go, Bernadette, so I am super duper excited for Maria Semple‘s new release, Today Will Be Different. Meanwhile, I need to go back and read some of her previous works! Any suggestions for where to start?

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Again, good ol’ Uncle Rick. Unsurprisingly, J.K. Rowling is also on the list. I’ve bought all of her books but haven’t read all of them; I was too scared to start The Casual Vacancy after its backlash (I didn’t want to be disappointed by my literary hero) and even though I’ve heard good things about the Cormoran Strike series, I haven’t started it. I did, however, read The Cursed Child and had quite a few opinions on it. This isn’t an auto-buy, but when I was younger and devouring every book in my local library, I read every single Ann Rinaldi book without fail. HistFic 4 lyfe.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

I have heard a million and one good things about Elena Ferrante‘s series, but unlike Me Before You, it’s piqued my interest more than destroyed it. I still have quite a few books before it on my TBR list, but it’s definitely up there.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Hannah Hart announced a while ago that she is writing a second book and this one sounds amazing. It’s called Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded and the cover looks gorgeous. I’ve had it pre-ordered since she made the announcement, and have followed her through social media as she’s written it, so I’m definitely ready for its release.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

I don’t have an answer for this one, but I have been giggling at that picture for a good couple minutes.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwoI already own a few of these: Grimm’s Fairy TalesAnne of Green Gables, and The Little Princess, but the Barnes & Noble collectible editions are soooo pretty. I also desperately want The Annotated Little Women, but I’ll probably have to wait on that one. I also love the new Harry Potter illustrated editions.


That’s a wrap on the Pokémon book tag! Now I’m off to… well, not catch ’em all, but maybe grab some more Zubats.

Leave a Reply

