Literary Holiday Quotes

One of my favorite things to do is to collect quotes, so I thought in celebration of the holidays I’d post a few of my favorites. It’s hard to pick just one line from certain books (Little Women has scenes upon scenes of good holiday quotes), but here are a few that stuck out to me.

literary holiday quotes


“One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. “Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”

―J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone


“Not believe in Santa Claus! You might as well not believe in fairies!”

―Francis Pharcellus Church


“I’ve come at last. She has kept me out for a long time, but I have got in at last. Aslan is on the move. The Witch’s magic is weakening.”

―C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe


“Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmastime.”

―Laura Ingalls Wilder


“The rooms were very still while the pages were softly turned and the winter sunshine crept in to touch the bright heads and serious faces with a Christmas greeting.”

–Louisa May Alcott, Little Women


“Oi! Presents!”

― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban


“It was the beginning of the greatest Christmas ever. Little food. No presents. But there was a snowman in their basement.”

―Markus Zusak, The Book Thief


“I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.”

―Charles Dickens


Happy Holidays! Hope yours are restful and full of reading.

Leave a Reply

