10 Authors You Should Follow on Twitter

Most of the people I follow on Twitter are literary in some way. There’s editors, publishers, publicists, and writers of all genres. So many of them are worth following (otherwise I wouldn’t), but several rise above the rest. Here are ten authors who I’d definitely recommend following!

These are in no particular order:

1. Dana Schwartz: Schwartz’s book hasn’t come out yet, but she’s written for several publications. She’s also the creator of Guy in Your MFA and Dystopian YA Novel, two excellent and hilarious Twitter accounts.

2. Jeff VanderMeer: Another hilarious Twitter-er (Twitter poster? Tweeter?). Sometimes I have no idea what he’s talking about, but it’s just because I’m not science-minded. He also retweets some really cool articles/pictures/videos.

3. Dani Denatti: Pretty much everything she tweets is something I’ve thought of before, but didn’t know how to put into words (and wasn’t able to make as funny).

4. J.K. Rowling: This is a no-brainer if you know me, but Rowling is also an excellent Tweeter (I’ve decided that’s the right form). Unlike many big-name authors, she doesn’t tweet too much about her current work, choosing instead to either bring attention to big issues or to evicerate Internet trolls, none of whom know what hit them.

5. Mara Wilson: I love Mara Wilson so much. I think her Twitter might be my favorite one on this list, actually. She’s always retweeting stuff that makes me actually laugh out loud, and she’s also a really positive force, even when she’s having a bad day. She’s also a big reader, so you’re sure to get good book recs if you follow her!

6. Roxane Gay: I recently got to hear Gay speak at a university near me, and when we left, I heard someone remark, “She spoke just like she tweets.” It’s true! She’s honest and fierce, and has a wonderful, dry sense of humor. She is also one of the few people who can pull off live-tweeting television. I look forward to seeing what she has to say about various pop culture events…

7. Kristen Lippert Martin: I saw Martin speak at the JRW Conference in 2014 and just on a whim decided to follow her on Twitter. It was one of the best follower decisions I’ve made, because she’s incredibly hilarious. She tweets a lot about day-to-day family stuff, and it’s always super entertaining.

8. Rick Riordan: I think Riordan might be one of the best authors out there at connecting with his readers. He’s always RT-ing his followers and does a great job at answering people’s questions. Though most of his tweets are about his own work, it doesn’t bother me as much as it does with other authors, because what he’s got to say is usually really interesting.

9. Maureen Johnson: Johnson was one of the first people I followed when I joined Twitter in 2011, and it was totally worth it. Her good morning tweets alone could rival Lin Manuel Miranda’s. She’s another positive Internet force, and I’m so glad she’s writing books for teens.

10. John Green: He and his brother, Hank, are both great follows. He’s on this list both because I’m a fan of his work and also because the two brothers are always retweeting really interesting links that either make you think, or make you learn something new, both of which I love.

And hey! If you’re interested in following just any sort of literary person, I’m on Twitter as well.

Leave a Reply

